November 1, 2021

Add Employees

Basics
Add Employees

This component allows adding, editing, and deleting employees in PlainStaff. The employee dialog is divided into the sections Basic Settings, Working Time Models, Vacation Entitlement, and Corrections.

Basic Settings

In the basic settings, fundamental information such as name, date of birth, and personnel number is stored. The employee's email address is also their username for PlainStaff. If this matches their email address in Microsoft 365, employees can also authenticate in PlainStaff using their Microsoft 365 login without needing a separate password. Employees' dates of birth are automatically entered as events in the corresponding team calendar.

The team to which employees are assigned determines which team calendar their appointments appear in and which manager approves their absence requests.

The employee's region determines which public holidays apply to them. Additional managers can be defined in addition to the team manager using the Managers field.

Entry and exit dates determine whether employees can log in and whether they require a license. Only employees who have entered and not yet exited can log in and require a license.

Using the "Blocked Applications" field, individual access routes to PlainStaff can be blocked for employees. If the field is empty, employees can use all applications:

  • Web Browser
  • Smartphone App (Single User)
  • Smartphone App (Multi-User or Kiosk Mode)
Roles

Roles can be used to grant permissions to employees in PlainStaff. The following permissions are available:

  • Admin: Grants the employee all permissions in PlainStaff.
  • Manager: Grants the employee permission to view and edit time accounts of employees assigned to them.
  • Management / Works Council: Grants the employee read access to all employees' time accounts.
  • Project Admin: Grants the employee the right to create and modify projects.
  • Project Controller: This role grants the employee the right to still see turnovers and hourly rates when the turnover display for employees is actually disabled in the settings.
  • Project Manager: With this role, the employee gets full access to all projects to which they are assigned as project manager. They cannot create or delete projects.
  • Shift Planner: This role grants the employee the right to edit the shift plan.